Christmas Decorating Ideas

Great Christmas Decorating Ideas
House Tour

My SEO phrase is Christmas decorating ideas

Christmas is my favourite time of the year and getting the house ready really puts me in the Christmas spirit.  Each year I look for new Christmas decorating ideas to keep it fresh and keep me on my twinkle toes! Being my very favourite season to decorate for and I’m very excited to invite you into my home  to show you some really simple festive decorating ideas.

So put on some Christmas music, grab a mug of hot chocolate and follow me around my home.  I’ll show you some great Christmas decorating ideas for each room and just let me know if you have any questions.  All questions welcome!

I love the snowy, neutral Christmas decorating colour schemes for grown up elegance and a touch of sophistication!

Door Lanterns

img_0228Making a great entrance is one of the best Christmas decorating ideas I can give you. It just puts me in such a great mood every time I leave and enter the house! I purchased these old lanterns a few years ago and I love to dress them up for the different seasons.  Next year I think I will paint them! The flower arrangement you see on top is quick and easy to do and a great way to use up the cuttings from the Christmas tree.

Christmas Wreaths as a table centre piece

Christmas Wreaths Table centre pieces
Christmas Wreaths Table centre pieces

The Christmas Wreath is an often over looked versatile Christmas decorating friend. They come in such a variety of materials and styles and we can use them in so many ways. Think beyond the Christmas tree and traditional garland by adorning your home in style with wreaths.  Use Christmas wreath ideas to create extraordinary Christmas decorations using ordinary materials from around the house

For more details on great Christmas decorating ideas using wreaths, head on over to this post.

Christmas Tree Décor ideas

I stayed with a soft and delicate white and silver colour scheme on the tree. Any. Christmas decorations I can’t find a home for or use, I put somewhere on the tree.  Many of the ornaments are special keepsake I collect from year to year. You might even be able to spot our bespoke dog ornaments we got from Harvey Nicholas last year.

Faux Presents

Another great Christmas decorating idea is to use a lot of fake presents around the house to fill in empty spots and they also work great under side tables and desks that you have around your home.

Mirror Madness

img_0117Every house has mirrors to use as a glacial backdrop for all your Christmas decorating ideas.

Light Up Christmas Decor 

img_0124I always like to add some Christmas lights to each room, so I made this small tree with some branches that were cut from the garden.

You will need:
  • Some garden cuttings/branches
  • White emulsion paint
  • Spray glue
  • Newspaper or table covering
  • Glitter
  • Led lights
  • Christmas Ornaments
  • Flower pot
  • Small bag of cement
Method
  • Let branches dry out for a number of days.
  • Paint white with left over white emulsion paint. Allow to dry thoroughly.
  • Line a table with newspaper
  • Line branches on table and spray branches generously with spray glue.
  • Immediately pour glitter on. Allow to dry for 2-3 hours
  • In the meantime, put a plastic bag in the base of your flower pot to cover the wholes.
  • Follow the instructions to mix the cement powder with water and pour into flower pot. Allow to settle for 20 minutes.
  • Stand branches in the cement mixture to your desired effect and leave to dry.
  • Once dry wrap led lights around branches and hold in p[lace with some wire.
  • Decorate!

Thank you so much for visiting.  I hope you enjoyed the tour!  To continue with more great Christmas decorating ideas follow our posts where we visit the shop windows of NYC in our NYC Window Shopping Tour and in Padova in Veneto Italy.

 

If you would like to order any of the  Christmas decorating items shown here, let us know and we’ll get in touch to organise delivery

